Posted in Penny Pinching, Staying Healthy

Sunday Meat Shopping

I’ve started buying the meat we eat at one store, a health food store, to keep things simple and healthy. Sticking to my plan to only buy what I’ll need for the upcoming week, I’ll plan out our meals before I get there as close to when they open as possible before they sell out of the good stuff.

Spending a total of $28.24 this trip will provide the main course for 5 meals:

  • 2 sweet Italian sausages
  • 1 lb of ground beef, cottage cheese, and penne pasta for a casserole that will leave leftovers for the next night.
  • 1 strip steak
  • 1 butterfly pork chop

I still have 1 container of stew beef in the freezer from last week’s trip I have to figure out what to do with.

A week’s worth of meat in the freezer for under $30 helps me feel like I’m keeping us Above the Waterline

 

Leave a Reply

